Environment & Energy

Environment & Energy

The Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities supports an environmental protection program that is based on sound science, rather than administrative ease. The CGMC recognizes that environmental protection and economic growth are not mutually exclusive.  By working to ensure that water quality rules are balanced and backed by state funding, Minnesota will be able to clean its impaired waters and prevent new impairments in the future.

Policy Positions

Advocacy Documents

Bills to Watch

  • SF 210 – Senate bonding bill
  • HF 702SF 695 – Judicial reform/unadopted rules bill
  • SF 672 / HF 766 – “Good Government” bill (modifies public comment period requirements for draft impaired waters list, provides a process to challenge impaired waters lists, and requires notice to publicly owned wastewater treatment facility applicants)
  • SF XX / HF 1058 – Legislative Water Commission independent peer review
  • SF 737 / HF 1003 – Regulatory certainty phase 2

Contact information

2017-18 Legislative Committees

Senate Energy and Utilities Finance and Policy Committee
Chair: Sen. David Osmek (R-Mound)
651-296-1282
sen.david.osmek@senate.mn

Senate Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria)
651-297-8063
sen.bill.ingebrigtsen@senate.mn

Senate Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Carrier Ruud (R-Breezy Point)
651-296-4913 sen.carrie.ruud@senate.mn

Senate Capital Investment Committee
Chair:  Sen. David Senjem
651-296-3903
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

House Environment & Natural Resources Policy & Finance
Chair: Rep. Dan Fabian (R-Roseau)
651-296-9635
rep.dan.fabian@house.mn

House Job Growth & Energy Affordability Policy & Finance
Chair: Rep. Pat Garofalo (R-Farmington)
651.296.1069
rep.pat.garofalo@house.mn

House Legacy Funding Finance
Chair: Rep. Bob Gunther
651-296-3240
rep.bob.gunther@house.mn

House Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Rep. Dean Urdahl (R-Grove City)
651-296-4344
rep.dean.urdahl@house.mn

 

CGMC Chairs

CGMC Lobbyists