Economic Development

Economic Development

CGMC supports legislative initiatives that will enhance and expand existing economic development and redevelopment tools, and/or will establish effective new economic development tools for Greater Minnesota cities.

Policy Positions

Advocacy Documents

Bills to Watch

  • SF 2558/HF 3065 – Appropriates $20M in bonding for the BDPI Grant Program
  • HF2424 / SF2090 – Provides $1.5 million to DEED for grants awarded to Initiative Foundations for the  planning, coordination, training, and education necessary to expand child care access
  • HF3605/SF 3316 – Provides $519,000 to DEED for the Minnesota Child Care Grant Program, which aims to increase the supply of child care providers to support economic development. 
  • HF 4032/SF 3578 – Appropriates $5 million in bonding and $5 million from the general fund to provides grants to local governments and non-profits in Greater Minnesota to help cover the costs to build, upgrade or expand child care facilities.
  • HF 3714/SF 3242 – Appropriates $3 million in general fund money for the BDPI Grant Program
  • SF 3945/HF 4289 – Omnibus jobs bill

 

Contact information

2017-18 Legislative Committees

Senate Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy
Chair: Sen. Jeremy Miller (R-Winona)
651-296-5649
sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn

Senate Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake)
651-296-3826
sen.torrey.westrom@senate.mn

Senate Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Policy Committee
Chair: Sen. Bill Weber (R-Luverne)
651-296-5650
sen.bill.weber@senate.mn

Senate Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Sen. David Senjem
651-296-3903
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

House Job Growth & Energy Affordability Policy and Finance Committee
Chair: Rep. Pat Garofalo (R-Farmington)
651-296-1069
rep.pat.garofalo@house.mn

House Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Rep. Dean Urdahl (R-Grove City)
651-296-4344
rep.dean.urdahl@house.mn

CGMC Chairs

CGMC Lobbyists