Economic Development

Economic Development

CGMC supports legislative initiatives that will enhance and expand existing economic development and redevelopment tools, and/or will establish effective new economic development tools for Greater Minnesota cities.

Policy Positions

Advocacy Documents

Bills to Watch

  • SF 535/HF 1077 – Appropriates $20 million in bonding for the BDPI program
  • SF 536/HF 1097 – Appropriates $5 million in cash in FY 2020 and $5 million in FY 2021 for the BDPI program
  • SF 537/HF 422 – $3 million in grants to the Minnesota Initiative Foundations for the planning, coordination, training and education necessary to expand child care access
  • SF 538/HF 423 – $10 million to DEED to provide grants to child care providers, local governments and regional economic development organizations in Greater Minnesota to cover up to 50 percent of the costs to build, upgrade or expand child care facilities to increase capacity and meet state requirements

 

Contact information

2019-20 Legislative Committees

Senate Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy
Chair: Sen. Eric Pratt (R-Prior Lake)
651-296-4123
sen.eric.pratt@senate.mn

Senate Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake)
651-296-3826
sen.torrey.westrom@senate.mn

Senate Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Policy Committee
Chair: Sen. Bill Weber (R-Luverne)
651-296-5650
sen.bill.weber@senate.mn

Senate Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Sen. David Senjem (R-Rochester)
651-296-3903
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

House Job and Economic Development Committee
Chair: Rep. Tim Mahoney (DFL-St. Paul)
651-296-4277
rep.tim.mahoney@house.mn

House Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Rep. Mary Murphy (DFL-Hermantown)
651-296-2676
rep.mary.murphy@house.mn

House Early Childhood Finance and Policy Division
Chair: Rep. Dave Pinto (DFL-St. Paul)
651-296-4199
rep.dave.pinto@house.mn

House Greater Minnesota Jobs and Economic Development Finance Division
Chair: Rep. Gene Pelowski Jr. (DFL-Winona)
651-296-8637
rep.gene.pelowski@house.mn

CGMC Chairs

CGMC Lobbyists