Environment & Energy

Environment & Energy

The Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities supports an environmental protection program that is based on sound science, rather than administrative ease. The CGMC recognizes that environmental protection and economic growth are not mutually exclusive.  By working to ensure that water quality rules are balanced and backed by state funding, Minnesota will be able to clean its impaired waters and prevent new impairments in the future.

Policy Positions

Advocacy Documents

Bills to Watch

  • SF 587/HF 411 – Appropriates $128 million to the Public Facilities Authority for clean water infrastructure grant and loan programs
  • SF 1667/HF 1502 – “Safe Salting” bill

Contact information

2019-20 Legislative Committees

Senate Energy and Utilities Finance and Policy Committee
Chair: Sen. David Osmek (R-Mound)
651-296-1282
sen.david.osmek@senate.mn

Senate Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria)
651-297-8063
sen.bill.ingebrigtsen@senate.mn

Senate Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee
Chair: Sen. Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point)
651-296-4913
sen.carrie.ruud@senate.mn

Senate Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Sen. David Senjem (R-Rochester)
651-296-3903
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

House Environment & Natural Resources Policy
Chair: Rep. John Persell (DFL-Bemidji)
651-296-5516
rep.john.persell@house.mn

House Environment & Natural Resources Finance Division
Chair: Rick Hansen (DFL-South St. Paul)
651-296-6828
rep.rick.hansen@house.mn

House Water Division
Chair: Rep. Peter Fischer (DFL-Maplewood)
651-296-5363
rep.peter.fischer@house.mn

House Legacy Finance Division
Chair: Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul)
651-296-1188
rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

House Energy and Climate Finance and Policy Division
Chair: Rep. Jean Wagenius (DFL-Minneapolis)
651-296-4200
rep.jean.wagenius@house.mn

House Capital Investment Committee
Chair: Rep. Mary Murphy (DFL-Hermantown)
651-296-2676
rep.mary.murphy@house.mn

CGMC Chairs

CGMC Lobbyists