The results are not considered official until Nov. 10, but it appears Minnesota will remain the only state in the nation with a divided legislature. Although Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden won Minnesota by a sizeable margin, it did not result in an anticipated blue wave in state legislative races. If current election results hold, the GOP will maintain control of the Minnesota Senate with a one-seat majority and the DFL will maintain control of the Minnesota House with a two-seat majority, according to the Star Tribune.
It is possible that mail-in ballots may still arrive and be counted in some of the close legislative races. For example, in Senate District 14 in the St. Cloud area, it initially appeared that Republican incumbent Jerry Relph had won, but DFL challenger Aric Putnam took the lead overnight as absentee ballots were processed.
Several Greater Minnesota legislators with whom the CGMC has worked on legislation throughout the years appear to have been defeated, including Sen. Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin), Rep. Jeanne Poppe (DFL-Austin), Rep. Jeff Brand (DFL-St. Peter), Rep. John Persell (DFL-Bemidji) and Rep. Julie Sandstede (DFL-Hibbing). However, the results of the Brand and Sandstede races were so close that they could be subject to an automatic recount if the losing candidate requests one.  
As state and local officials march toward determining the final winners in the legislative races, CGMC staff is busy analyzing the results to understand how and why these seats changed hands and how it could impact our legislative strategies in the upcoming 2021 session. You can learn more at the CGMC Virtual Fall Conference on Nov. 19 as CGMC Executive Director Bradley Peterson walks us through the election results.